This is not the post I expected y’all to come back to. It is not a post I ever expected to write. In a moment of fuzzy mindedness, I deleted a level 1 toon. I had forgotten that toon was the guild leader of the guild that owned the Radish Inn and Maze. With one final push of a button, the guild, the guild bank and associated dimension were deleted. Permanently. The Radish Inn and Maze is no more. When a guild is deleted, all data associated with the guild is removed from the database and can not be restored.
I loved the Radish Inn, it was built just for me. I loved sitting on the front deck, greeting visitors. I loved the colours I’d used and the statues I’d made. I loved the two ladies, Liberty and Justice, the marching ants and the loo dude. The three wise mice are no longer wise, they no longer exist.
As much as I love the Inn that’s not the worst of it. The Inn was more or less finished, and can remain complete in memory. I have lost most of my Fae Yule goodies, effectively irreplaceable till next Christmas. I no longer have the Fae Yule trees with their waving tentacles or the Fae Yule candles, the prettiest candles in the game. My lights and snow piles, snowy lamps and bushes, my sleigh, all gone. That doesn’t just affect now, that will affect all future projects that I build.
So many hours of work to went into the inn, so many hours of rifting and questing to gather snowflakes for the Fae Yule items now all gone. Many of my friends had donated both the Fae Yule and the rare instance drops stored in the Inn and guild bank; I feel I’ve let them down, too.
I’m overwhelmed when I think of the consequences of one single act. The past four days have been a litany of loss as I remember a new thing gone. It may all have been pixels on a screen but it had meaning to me. Trion have restored what they can (many thanks to GM Garth for your help), at least I don’t have to start from scratch again. The moral of this story, folks, is don’t drive heavy machinery or delete toons with a foggy brain.
What surprised me was the lack of a prompt saying I was about to delete a guild. I’m sure many of you are cringing as you read this, thinking of your own beloved dimensions gone in a second. With the limit of one dimension per toon, there are many low level toons out there babysitting beloved dimensions or guilds owning beloved dimensions. With time, someone is likely to make the same mistake I did. I’d hate anyone to be feeling what I’m feeling right now. I’ve posted a suggestion to the Rift forums that a prompt be added to prevent this happening to someone else, support it if you think a deletion prompt is a good idea.
I know many of you will share my sorrow, so let’s take a moment to remember the Radish Inn. Don’t mind that woman quietly choking back sobs, she’ll recover.